The Chimneys

History: The Chimneys, located in Fredericksburg Virginia, this historic house was built between the years 1771-1773, named after the stone chimneys at either end of the building. It was not documented who exactly owned The Chimneys, but it was designed by Charles Yates and constructed by John Glassell who was a local merchant coming from [...]

The Lord Baltimore Hotel

History: Located at 20 West Baltimore Street in Maryland, the Lord Baltimore Hotel was designed by William Lee Stoddart in 1928. During this time, it was the era of the Great Depression and some think the height of the building was a factor in several tragedies during that time. The hotel closed in 1982, needed [...]

Sunken Hill Battlefield

The trail on the battlefield, taken by Hannah. History: Located in Fredericksburg Virginia at Sunken Road, The Battle of Fredericksburg was fought on December 11-15, 1862. This battle marked another unsuccessful attempt by the Union army to move south against the Confederate capital at Richmond. The Union suffered over 12,600 casualties and the Confederate losses [...]

St. Albans Sanatorium

St. Albans today, photo found on Colonial Ghosts/Credit to the Maryland Ghost Trackers History: Located in Radford Virginia, St. Albans Sanatorium was first built and used as a private preparatory high school for boys in 1892 by Professor George W. Miles. Miles envisioned this school as a place where boys would learn to be “future [...]